Ordinary

I have been told that I dream too greatly

That my mind dwells in a fantasy rivaling even the most prestigious novelists

“You’ve got your hands full with that one” they used to say

As if my lack there of limitations was crippling

I have no concept of failure

I never have

A 7-year-old Meghan would have told you the same thing I tell you today,

“I am going to be an author someday.”

Not one ounce of uncertainty to my voice

No Possibly, or if, or a lukewarm maybe

The word ‘if’ is toxic

I never let it slip through my tongue because then I set my own limitations

And if I tell my self ‘if’ then I’m succumbing to the possibility that I don’t have what it takes

That I am doubting my very self

But we’re taught in kindergarten that there is no limitation to imagination

So why should there be a limitation to mine?

They tell us if our dreams don’t scare us, then they’re not big enough

But sometimes at 18 the only thing you dream of is getting through the day

Getting asked to prom, passing classes, & winning the sectional championship

But bravery isn’t saved just for knights in shinning armor or solos in school plays

It’s raising your hand in English class because you actually enjoyed Catcher in the Rye

It’s trying out for the school musical yet never actually being able to sing

and It’s eating lunch alone because you’re worth more than toxic friendships

These acts of bravery do not have to move mountains or part ancient seas

They do not set off on a running start at the sound of a gun

They can start small

Step by step, moment by moment

I believe in Ordinary acts of bravery

Everyday

Overflowing my 1,440 minutes in simple acts of fearlessness

So no matter how big or how small

I dare you to be fearless

To be brave

So fall in love and get your heart broken

Learn Spanish and fail miserably

Laugh, sing, cry, scream, dance, run, write, climb, lead, build, give, dream

And start all over again

Do ‘it’

Whatever your ‘it’ might be

Do ‘it’

With all your heart

And never stop

Leave a Reply

