What is Bravery?

Growing up I was always afraid of my own shadow, I was so worried about what others would think of me and I let my own fears get in my way.  Bravery is not something that we are born with, it is a characteristic that develops as we grow and live through life experiences.  I have discovered that the only way you can really develop this characteristic and improve upon it is by putting yourself out there, pushing through your fears, and just saying yes.

For me, it took quite some time to develop my own bravery and to be honest I still am.  Of course, I’m still afraid of things but being brave doesn’t mean that you aren’t scared of things.  If things don’t scare you then you aren’t human.  Being afraid of this is normal.  But just because certain things scare you does not mean that you aren’t brave.  Being brave means that you are afraid but you decide to move past that fear.

Through out my life experiences I have learned a couple things that have helped me become “more brave”:

  1. Acknowledge your fear.  Pushing it away and trying to deny that it’s there will do nothing but hinder you in your endeavors.
  2. Realize that it is completely normal to be afraid of things.  You aren’t alone and judging yourself because you have emotions is not going to help.
  3. It’s OK to say it out loud.  Verbalizing your fear makes it seem less daunting.
  4. Figure out where your fear is coming from.  They all have roots, so figure that out and then work from there
  5. Decide if this fear is something that is going to hinder you or if it’s going to help you.
  6. Do not consider yourself weak or worry about being perceived as weak. We are our own worst critics and most of the time someone else has a fear just like yours and if they don’t understand your fear then they really do not matter.
  7. Lastly, let go of the things that you cannot control.  The only possible thing you can control is yourself and your actions so don’t worry about anything other than yourself.

There should always be at least one person who believes in you and that person is yourself.  Never stop believing in yourself, you’d be surprised at what you can accomplish when you put your fears aside.

Sincerely, Meggy xoxo

DCIM101GOPRO
DCIM101GOPRO
Leave a Reply

