A Thank You to my Best Friend

As I sit in the airport after spending the weekend with my best friend, I realize how lucky I am to have her.  I have never a felt so comfortable with someone or been more able to be myself. She accepts me for who I am and has no judgments, whether I’m freaking about going on a healthy diet or  being the person to encourage me to order an XL pizza from Papa John’s purely for the fact that we want to dip the pizza in the delicious garlic dip. She’s the one I go to when I get the best news but she’s also the one I go to when I get the worst news, no matter what she’s there for me.

 

Here are some things that my best friend has taught me-

 

  1. Self Confidence

You always tell me the truth, but you also make sure to let me know that I look good in anything (almost), it’s all about my attitude. Being confident in myself is the key. Thank you for making me realize my self-worth. For making me realize that I am good enough, no matter what some stupid boy says. For making me realize that I am beautiful. For teaching me that as long as I am myself I have nothing to worry about.

  1. Trust

Before we met I had a huge lack of trust but you made me realize that it is ok to trust people and let my guard down. You listen to me wholeheartedly, whether it be from a story about some kid in my class to some serious family issues. You give me your opinion whether it’s something I want to hear or not. So thank you for forcing me to let my guard down but not pushing to hard.

  1. Forgiveness

You’ve always encouraged me to be the bigger person. You taught me how to forgive the one who broke my heart, the friend who stabbed me in the back, and the professor who gave me a C minus when I thought I deserved an A. You taught me how to keep my head held high through all the struggles life threw at me but you also were there when it all got to be too much. Thank you for being my shoulder to cry on.

  1. Bravery

I did not know that I what I was capable of until you came along. You taught me that sometimes it’s ok to cry but that doesn’t make me any less strong. You taught me that just because I fall apart it does not mean that I can’t be proud. Even the best people need to fall apart sometimes.

  1. Laughter

You’ve taught me that laughter truly is the best medicine. Even when I came back from the worst day possible you would always make me laugh and make my day better. Laughter truly is the best medicine.

  1. Always be yourself- I am good enough

You have never wanted me to be anything but myself. You accept me for who I am, you have seen me at my absolute rock bottom and you have seen me at my absolute best but love me anyways. You have shown me that I am good enough and no one should ever tell me otherwise. You love me because of me, that is all I could ever ask for from someone.

 

To my soul mate- Thank you for loving me unconditionally no matter what stupid decisions I decide to make and for being the one who is there when I make those stupid decisions. Thank you for picking up the pieces whenever I get my heart broken by immature boys and always assuring me that I am good enough no matter what anyone else says. Thank you for always being there for me and for listening to me whenever and whatever I have to say. You have taught me so much. I am so thankful and unbelievably blessed to have you in my life.

Sincerely,  Meggy xoxo

Leave a Reply

